Every Muscle Fibre

 

I spent a few hours this afternoon knife painting the sky.  I had initially laid a flat colour of blue, and had a dark orange horizon line for a sunset, but today I took out the thicker acrylics and palette knives and got done to the very serious business of creating texture.

I have never painted a canvas so large. I have painted a commissioned sign that was larger, but never a painting for my own series.  And to me, this is a huge canvas – 3 by 4 feet! Working the paint onto the canvas with the knife was such a physical task that every fibre of my being felt spent.

I’m still in the early stages of this piece, but I’m already so deeply attached to it, and that’s probably because it has been so laborious to create. I know I have to display it, and I know I may have to sell it.  I makes me wonder how some of the great artists parts with their work.  After labouring over the Mona Lisa for almost a decade, did DaVinci feel as though he was giving away one of his children?

Leave a Reply

