The Real Special

  
I participated in a craft market this past weekend. The weather wasn’t the most cooperative – it was brutally cold and there were not many out perusing the vendors. I only sold one print: but it was hands-down the most special sale of my art career. 

A family came by, and a girl was looking at my Cowgirl Sunset print. She was going to buy it, until her dad reminded her that it would take all her allowance money. He suggested that she take a look at all the other vendors, and at the end, if she still wanted the picture, she should come back and buy it. An hour later, she returned. 

I think that’s one of the reasons why I love to paint. I love making a scene that resonates with someone else. I love creating connections with people through visual images. I love telling a story with a picture that someone else can pick up and finish it in their own way – with their own words. 

Leave a Reply

